OhioSE understands that success in regional economic development is forged through partnerships and we work with numerous agencies, organizations and companies to create attract, retain and grow manufacturing companies in southeastern Ohio, including the region’s cities, towns, villages and townships; county and regional economic development organizations; JobsOhio and Ohio agencies; neighboring states; federal agencies; non-profit groups; and philanthropic foundations involved in economic development and the related activities that support the growth of jobs.

Local Economic Development Organizations

Each of the twenty-five OhioSE counties has a staffed position whose focus is economic development. The names of the organizations differ; some are Port Authorities, others are Community Improvement Councils (CICs) and other have unique names. These individuals and organizations are key to attracting new businesses and growing existing businesses. They know their county best and are charged to have a vast array of information including details on available sites, labor pools, logistics and utilities in their respective county needed for attracting a new company. They also know the businesses already in their area and are part of the network of support reaching out help existing companies grow and thrive. Find detailed information on each of our counties here.

Regional Development Organizations

Buckeye Hills

Buckeye Hills – Hocking Valley Regional Development District helps local communities work together to cooperatively improve the region. A voluntary organization of local government political subdivisions, Buckeye Hills serves eight counties within the OhioSE region. They assist with securing financial resources to translate ideas into action. The counties they serve include Athens, Hocking, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Noble, Perry and Washington.


OMEGA is Ohio Mid-Eastern Government’s Association, a collaborative body of member governments that serves as a facilitator between state and federal government agencies and local entities to provide opportunities in economic and community development through networking, education, planning, research, and allocation of resources. OMEGA serves ten counties within our region: Belmont, Carroll, Columbiana, Coshocton, Guernsey, Harrison, Holmes, Jefferson, Muskingum and Tuscarawas.

Ohio Valley Regional Development Commission

Ohio Valley Regional Development Commission (OVRDC) is a public regional planning commission established coordinate federal, state and local resources to encourage development in 12 southern Ohio counties: Adams, Brown, Clermont, Fayette, Gallia, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, Ross, Scioto and Vinton.

Entrepreneurship Partners

Ohio University Innovation Center

The Innovation Center provides an entrepreneurial ecosystem dedicated to helping new businesses with office space, advisers and coaches, an equipped wet lab and 3D printing.

Ohio SBDC at the OSU South Center

The Ohio Small Business Development Center at the Ohio State University offers comprehensive business management and education services including free, confidential, in-depth, one-on-one counseling and low-or no-cost training.  This Center serves these OhioSE counties: Adams, Gallia, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, Ross, Scioto and Vinton.

Kricker Innovation Hub at Shawnee State University

The Kricker Innovation Hub is a landmark facility in Downtown Portsmouth that promotes entrepreneurship, innovation, and creativity in the region.