First-ever Annual Meetings in Region: an Overview

API (Appalachian Partnership Inc.) and APEG held first-ever annual meetings in the region on June 25th and 26th in two separate locations, at the Pritchard Laughlin Civic Center (Cambridge) and Sunroom at the Brick (Frankfort, near Chillicothe) respectively. Both events were well received and attended with almost two hundred fifty participating collectively.

While the two events nearly mirrored each other in content, each location had it’s own keynote speaker and award categories. Mark James, API/APEG Board Chair, provided opening remarks; he welcomed guests, recognized partners, board members and local elected officials, and took us on a journey beginning with the combined organization’s (API/APEG) beginnings through present day.

Guests enjoyed a served buffet lunch as a scrolling powerpoint told the collective story about API/APEG and it’s subsidiaries, AGC and OWP, including specific information about 2018/2019 project wins and fun facts about the region. Two new ‘SE Ohio Success Story’ videos were previewed, one for JSW Steel USA, and another for InSolves.

At the conclusion of lunch, economic development best practice awards, as well as distinguished leadership, benefactor and distinguished legislator awards were presented in each location. The following organizations/individuals received awards:


  • APEG Best Practice Award, Business Retention & Expansion: Coshocton Port Authority Economic Development
  • APEG Best Real Estate Project, National Road Business Park: Zanesville-Muskingum County Port Authority
  • APEG Best Workforce Program: Building Bridges to Careers, a non-profit organization originating out of Marietta that has exposed 2800 students to different career opportunities.
  • APEG Most Creative Project Approach, Potter Davis Renovation: Cambridge-Guernsey County Community Improvement Corporation to renovate a historic downtown building for the Area Agency on Aging.
  • API Visionary Leadership Award: Joseph Hamrock of NiSource, Mike Archer of Pioneer Pipe, and Cara Brook of the Foundation for Appalachian Ohio.
  • AGC Benefactor Awards: Chuck Sulerzyski (People’s Bank), Jeff East (US Bank), and Todd Cover (Belmont Savings Bank)


  • APEG Best Downtown Revitalization Effort: Chillicothe, Ohio
  • APEG Best Real Estate Program: Lawrence Economic Development Corporation
  • APEG Best Support of Entrepreneurial Innovation: Ohio University Innovation Center
  • APEG Workforce Project, GKN Incumbent Worker Training: Gallia County Economic & Community Development
  • APEG Most Creative Project Funding, Jackson Meridian Site Redevelopment: JEDISO
  • AGC Benefactor Award: Jeffrey E. Smith (Ohio Valley Bank)

Due to Senate and House budget sessions during the week of the events, legislators were unable to attend, but the five Distinguished Legislative Effort Awards were personally presented to the following, in appreciation of advocacy for key legislation positively affecting the region:

  • Representative Jack Cera, Ohio District 96
  • Representative Don Jones, Ohio District 95 Cambridge
  • Representative Jay Edwards, Ohio District 94
  • Ohio Senator Bob Peterson, District 17
  • Ohio Senator Frank Hoagland, District 30

J.P. Nauseef, JobsOhio President/Chief Investment Officer (Cambridge) and John Carey, Governor’s Office of Appalachia Director (Frankfort) provided keynote addresses outlining their hopes and aspirations for the region. John Molinaro, API President/CEO, and Mike Jacoby, APEG President/CEO walked attendees through the final Regional Economic Prosperity Plan.

To view all documents, videos and presentations from the annual meeting, go here. 


Annual Meeting Press